Gigs and Sessions

Upcoming Gigs

Friday 15th December
The Fates are hosting a Winter Wassail at the Gardeners’ Rest, Neepsend, Sheffield, S3 8AT. A short set of wintery material from us followed by a mixed session of songs and tunes. Chance to dust off that festive material and play some music with friends and a pint. All welcome. 8.30pm start.

Saturday 16th December
Love Music Hate Racism, with The Bell Hagg Orkestar at Regather Works, Sheffield, S11 8BU.  More details and purchase tickets here. 7.30 start.

Sunday 25th February
Shakespeare’s, Gibraltar Street, Sheffield, S3 8UA. What better way to spend a Sunday afternoon than listening to some beautiful harmony singing with The Fates plus our very special guests, Daisybell.  We’ll be starting at 2pm and tickets will be on sale soon. £7/£5 concessions.

Wednesday 18th April
Banner Cross Folk Club, Sheffield. 8:30pm (doors at 8:00pm)

We’re welcoming more bookings for 2018 so if you’d like us to come and sing for you (or even with you, as we do enjoy collaborating with other musicians, storytellers and a variety of performers), please get in touch.

Sessions

Friday 15th December
Festive gig and session at The Gardeners Rest, Sheffield – see gig listing above. We’ll do a set and then host a mixed session afterwards, starting at about 9.15ish. All welcome!

Monday 18th December
Come and join us at Fagans, Broad Lane, Sheffield, S1 4BS for an evening of Sheffield Carols. 8pm start.

Friday 5th January 2018
12th night sing – join us and Andrew Durdey for some traditional 12th night singing, and chance to get a few more local carols in before the New Year gets underway. Wharncliffe Arms, Main Road, Wharncliffe Side, Sheffield, S35 ODQ. 8.30pm start.

Thursday 25th January

Blue Ball Inn, 281 Main Road, Wharncliffe Side, Sheffield, S35 ODQ. Mixed session hosted by The Fates and Dave Young (every last Thursday), 8.30pm start.

Recent Gigs

Saturday 22 July 
Hull Folk and Maritime Festival. Dunston Ship Repairs Maritime Stage.

Sunday 23 July 
Tramlines, Sheffield.

Monday 21 August
Dunkirk Folk, 251 Barnsley Road, Denby Dale, HD8 8TX.

Thursday 13 July 
Support slot at Topic Folk Club at Glyde House, Bradford.

Saturday 1 July 
South Road Song Crawl.  As part of the Walkley Festival we sang our way along South Road in Walkley, visiting as many independent shops as we could along the way to sing them a few songs, with at least one song being specific to what is sold in that shop. We started outside the Library at 1:30pm and then visited Walkley News (1:45pm), Tonearm Vinyl (2:00pm), Walkley Beer Company (2:15pm), The Craft Tree (2:45pm) Beeches of Walkley (3:00pm) and Gerry’s Bakery (3:15pm). A great afternoon was had by all!

Saturday 8 July 
The People of Priory Festival, Hull.

Friday 12 May
Doncaster Folk Festival, Evening Concert, The Ukranian Centre, 48 Beckett Road, Doncaster, DN2 4AD  https://www.facebook.com/DoncasterFolk/

Friday 31 March
Netheredge Bowling Club, Netheredge Road, Sheffield, S7 1RU (download poster).

Sunday 19 March
Toe-tapping afternoon gig with Sheffield’s premier Gypsy Jazz band, the Swing Bandits. Bard’s Bar, Shakespeares, Gibraltar Street, Sheffield. Click here for some photos of the gig.

Thursday 2 March
Crookes Folk Club, Princess Royal, Slinn Street, Sheffield.

Thursday 22 December
The Fates Yuletide Session at The Gardeners Rest, Neepsend Lane, Sheffield, S3 8AT.

Thursday 10 November 2016
The Fates Album Launch at Shakespeare’s Bard’s Bar, Gibraltar Street, Sheffield with support from Simon Robinson. Click here to see a video from the gig (of us singing harmonies with Simon).

Saturday 12 November 2016
She Shanties Now We Arrrr Five concert, Boat Trip on the Tyne followed by a party at the Cumberland Arms, Newcastle On Tyne. We had a blast!

 

Share: Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on Twitter